« Back to All Topics
Rules of the game 
Posted in 
Curling
Rules of the game 
Posted in 
Curling
Rules of the game 
I have little to no experience with this game but The rules are a bit weird I don't agree with them what so ever.  First of all If you steal a point off an opponent in curling the person who has the hammer gets to try again. lol (really) That's so unfair.  In Tennis for example the person with the advantage (serving) If they get stolen a game then the advantage goes to the other person which is correct. Also You shouldn't be able to blank an end and keep your hammer. That's also unfair. Not sure who wrote the current curling rules but no offence to them but I think they have it wrong.  One thing I like with the current rules is the guard rule.  Creates action which is good. 
I have little to no experience (live) is what I meant to say I have have experience on this site though.
Good point well made here,in a two end game versus a class player and the class player has hammer first(jeez scary just thinking about it)anyway u play ur best and impress urself by somehow stealing one then ur reward is to have to do it all over again,but ur class opponent decides to split ur guards which pretty much guarantee 1-1,would be nice if hammer is rotated after each end no matter who wins the end but it ain't going to happen..p's goooo vinniiiie
While it may not seem that way, you will come to appreciate and embrace these rules as they are an integral part of the strategy of the game. Curling strategy extends far beyond the current rock. The decision to blank an end (or to take or give a point) factors in the score, how many ends are remaining and the game play in the end itself as well an assessment of your own AND your opponents capabilities. In real curling the changing ice conditions may also factor in.