« Back to All Topics
Weird Coincidences?
Posted in 
Backgammon
Weird Coincidences?
Posted in 
Backgammon
Weird Coincidences?
A lot of people complain the dice must be rigged because their opponent rolled so many doubles or whatever.  Well sometimes highly unlikely sequences of rolls happen using real dice too.  Unless you keep records over many many games there is simply no way to know.

Once a week or so someone sends me messages saying I somehow have control over what comes up.  If that were true then I wouldn't play as it would be no fun.  Yes I have had some extreme luck both good and bad...it happens and I will never whine or gloat about it.

A friend of mine suspects sometime players here are actually not people but are computers or are using computers.  It is certainly possible.  But I have no knowledge of such things going on.

Rarely though I have seen things which are totally unexplainable. These involve positions where the game is almost over and I am way ahead meaning the odds of me winning are better than 99.9% and my opponent suddenly offers me the doubling cube.  Magically the next several rolls come out and they win.  

No sane player or computer would have ever doubled the game under those conditions.  One explanation would be they indeed control what came but if that is so then why aren't they doing it more often?

Another explanation is perhaps they somehow knew the next few rolls.  I don't play cards but heard there were some scandals involving online poker (for money) where a few players could see the hole cards of the others. 

Perhaps someone has better theory.